A REAL Cheat Day and Our Anniversary Dinner

So we had a non-paleo cheat this weekend. And by this weekend I mean five minutes ago. It was so good I had to share it immediately. The non-paleo side of it was chocolate. Valentine’s day was our two year anniversary and instead of eating chocolate then, we decided to celebrate it this weekend and chocolate was the obvious choice. We hadn’t had any in who knows how long and it’s hard to pass up chocolate covered strawberries (one of my favorites.) Chris’s gift was making me this amazing new invention: chocolate covered bacon. When I say amazing, I mean UN-F*ING REAL. I knew it would be good because chocolate is good and bacon is great, so chocolate + bacon = awesome. But anyways, my expectations were far exceeded.

So we made some ceviche that my dad’s girlfriend (Ali) makes. It’s awesome. Ours was a bit limey but I think we just didn’t add enough spices.

TILAPIA LIME CEVICHE:
– 1.5 lbs tilapia
– 1 avocado
– 1/2 red onion
– 10 limes
– garlic salt
– pepper
– trajin (an awesome spice mix from mexico. You can actually get it at Walmart for some weird reason)
– cilantro

a. cut the tilapia into small pieces and put in a bowl. b. add the juice of ten limes. c. add trajin, garlic salt, pepper, and thinly sliced red onion. c. let sit for 2 hours in the fridge. The lime cooks the tilapia. d. add cut up avocado and cilantro and eat.


CHOCOLATE COVERED BACON (and strawberries)

– 1 package nitrate free bacon
– 1 package milk chocolate chips and 1 package white chocolate chips.
– almond butter
– 1 container strawberries

a. cook the bacon. It needs to be crispy. You can do this anyway that you would like. b. melt the chocolte chips. Once again, do this any way that you want. I did it in the microwave. c. Cover the bacon in the chocolate. I found a thin layer was the best. I also put some almond butter on some of the pieces and then the chocolate. d. Refrigerate until cold. e. EAT.
For the strawberries: We scoop out the middle and fill them with melted white chocolate and then cover them in milk chocolate. You can refrigerate them or leave them out until the chocolate hardens.


This was the best valentines day/anniversary dinner ever and a wonderful real cheat day that I haven’t had in a really long time. I’ve had more carbs today than I have eaten in the past few weeks combined…(literally).

Anyways- chocolate covered bacon is by far one of the most amazing things I have ever had. Hands down. It was unbelievable.

6 responses to “A REAL Cheat Day and Our Anniversary Dinner

  1. That chocolate covered bacon looks AMAZING! I can’t wait to try some…maybe not quite paleo but totally worth it. I like your way of filling the strawberries with white chocolate before dipping them–they look delicious as well.

    • The Bacon was awesome! Definitely not paleo but DEFINITELY worth it like you said. I have been doing a low carb (no fruit so like <50g a day) thing for a bit and it was quite the shock to my body…but yes, well worth it. SO GOOD.

  2. That ceviche looks to die for!! I’ve never tried it, but damn I want to now. My anniversary is in two weeks and you best believe I’m looking forward to “cheating” my way through dinner and dessert!

  3. I am going to make the talipa, the ceviche way. I’m glad to know you like it, I think I will as well, and Happy Anniversary to you and Chris!

  4. Pingback: Gluteal Augmentations and Bacon Pizza | Where Wild Things Play

Leave a Reply

