Aside

We Are Our Worst Critics.

We are our biggest critics. Its quite amazing really. Logically, we should be our biggest fans- but we aren’t.
This week was the first wod of the crossfit games open. My week didn’t go so well. I could blame it on a number of things (somewhat) out of my control…but not really because being injured and not training hard enough are technically my fault. But whatever.
So I’ve been beating myself up lately over my performance in the first open wod. I did it twice, which I didn’t want to do. I beat my first attempt the second time I did it- But it doesn’t matter because I am tied for 179th in my region with that score- and that’s just not good enough for me. I should be happy because a Burpee AMRAP is about as far away from my strengths as you can get. Outside of running, it’s sort of my worst nightmare- but it doesn’t matter, I didn’t do well enough in my eyes, which is a horrible feeling. So I’m hoping that we get some higher skilled and higher weighted workouts coming up in the next few weeks. That would be awesome and something I am definitely way more comfortable with.
I’m trying to be positive with this one and suck it up because I know that there will be better wods.

395423_10150610424022753_512727752_9445977_1006737347_n

The mental game of crossfit is, in my opinion, way more important than the physical. I usually don’t have much of a problem in this realm but this year, well we’ll see what happens as we progress through the open. I guess I still need to get my head out of my ass.
It’ll happen…at some point.

There is a reason why I love SHAINA JORDAN. 1. she articulates herself well. 2. she always does a great job of putting things in perspective. 3. she is crazier than I am. 4. she is awesome.
Everyone should read this…especially if you ever feel bad about yourself for your performance. It is a great explanation of why comparing yourself to others is often pointless.

It’s a new week and next weekend I’ll be in Telluride visiting my dad for his boys trip. I will get to listen to ten or so drunk doctors talk about their exciting younger years or the crazy s**t they’ve gotten themselves into recently. I can’t wait. It’s one of my favorite weekends with some of my favorite people.

Anyways, its a new week and I’m quite excited.

2 responses to “We Are Our Worst Critics.

  1. I like it. Especially this part – “Anyways, its a new week and I’m quite excited.”

  2. Being strong is way more important than how many burpees one can do. Dude, that was so retarded.

Leave a Reply

