12.4, CF Kids, and Success Vs. Failure

So I haven’t done a very good job recently when it comes to updating everyone. Let’s see what I need to cover- WOD 12.4, the CF Kids cert, and success vs. failure.

12.4 came out on Wednesday as I’m sure many of you know. I was both thrilled and disappointed. If I was 100% it would have been absolutely perfect. 14 lb med balls to a 9 foot target for 150 wallball (aka Karen) was amazing. We practice with a 16 lb med ball to a 10 ft target. So as you can see, with a lighter med ball and a shorter target, life is good. I’m also a fan of Karen and I’ve done it in 4:56. So when we have 12 minutes to complete Karen, 90 double unders, and as many muscle ups as we can get (30 if possible) I’m excited. I got through 8 muscle ups and they all felt magical. The wallball were really tough to do with my knee but I just had to go really slow. I think I’d have been happier with how it went if I wasn’t injured but I’ll take what I can get. And I’m proud of myself for pushing through it. The last of the Open WODS comes out on Wednesday. I’m excited to see what 12.5 has to offer. I’m hoping for something heavy.

This weekend Quinn and I went to a CrossFit Kids certification. It was AWESOME. CF Kids is built upon a number of ideas. It shapes lives, defines fitness and creates the connection between fitness and health, it creates community, and helps teach life skills. It is based on fun, creating good quality of movement, and the crossfit prescription.
We covered tons of stuff but there were a few takeaway points that everyone should know about. 1. The leading health problems for children in the U.S. are obesity and type II diabetes. There are a lot of reasons why but we can help solve the problem by teaching them good habits like exercise and healthy eating choices. And we need to start kids early. Think pre-school. 2. The importance of making it fun for children. There is a lot to it but a lot of what I learned will easily carry over to teaching our adult clients. I’m excited to use some of the stuff I learned. 3. I also learned how to program for kids, keep them safe, and teach them about nutrition.
If anyone wants more information about all of this stuff I’d be happy to talk about it with you but there is way too much to go over in this format. All in all, it was a great weekend, with great people, doing great things.

If you want some amazing kid stuff. Google Tori Allen.

So I’m going to cover the topic of success versus failure.
I’ve spent a lot of time dwelling on the concept of failure. The idea that I am not good enough, that I never will be, that somehow no matter how hard I work, I could have worked harder, everything I did could have been done better. 1- I am ashamed, I should not be thinking like that. 2- It won’t get me anywhere. 3- If anything, it is counterproductive.
I am somehow stuck in this tug-o-war competition between believing I have given it my all and thinking I could have worked harder. I don’t really know how to get out of it, but I know I am not the only one. I know that I am hard on myself, I always have been and probably always will be. But we have to find a balance between working hard and giving ourselves some leeway. I’ve often sought approval from outside sources because my own approval just doesn’t cut it. Or I just can’t give myself approval. Because in the back of my mind, I could have done better. I could have pushed harder, run faster, gotten just one more rep. The open is teaching me how to give myself some slack this year…To find success in the act of competing, of challenging yourself rather than winning the entire competition. We all define success is different ways and it doesn’t matter if yours is the same as mine. Whether that is working out 3 days a week or winning the crossfit games. It just matters that you find a way to challenge yourself and to be successful in your own way.
Maybe that is why we do this…To put ourselves in front of two doors, success and failure. To see what we are made of and to see what door we will open. Because it reality we are competing with ourselves. It doesn’t matter who gets the best time, who lifts the most, who wins on the board. All that matters is that we gave it our all. That we know we chose to succeed. Without the mental, you can’t have the physical. The physical will only take you so far. You really are stronger than you think. (This is true scientifically.) You really are capable of more than you think and our limits are set only by ourselves. Because if you don’t know that you can succeed and you walk into something with doubt, chances are you are going to fail.
So I am asking you… What are you made of? Do you have what it takes to be a champion? Do you have what it takes to Succeed?

“For me, winning isn’t something that happens suddenly on the field when the whistle blows and the crowds roar. Winning is something that builds physically and mentally every day that you train and every night that you dream.”
– Emmitt Smith.

Leave a Reply

