Paleo Recipes

So Ma has this idea of putting together a collection of our favorite paleo recipes from the gym. (so all of you who go to PFCF start thinking about your favorites) I had some free time on my hands and it was an off day today so I couldn’t waste my time working out. (although I managed to do a significant amount of ‘cardio’ for some reason. Over an hour collectively. Who knows why.) I decided to cook. I’ve come to the realization lately that I am not eating enough during the day. I guess I just don’t bring enough food with me in the morning and I find eating during the day to be time consuming and boring. I am also not eating enough carbs. SO, I decided to cook up some vegetables and sweet potatoes tonight and carb load for tomorrow’s workout. I’m totally kidding. I don’t believe in that crap. But I did cook a bunch of vegetables to bring with me to eat tomorrow after my workouts. Chris and I have also taken a recent liking to scallops. Which I have disliked for the majority of my life. However, I have learned to cook them and they are quick, easy, and delicious. I am also going to include my new cookie recipe because they are almost all fat and awesome and if you are looking for a nice little paleo cheat, they are great.

Roasted Vegetables (got this one from Ma)
– squash, zucchini, red onion, and sweet potato
– olive oil or coconut oil
– sea salt
– thyme, sage, oregano, and whatever spices you like

1. Cut up all your vegetables, mix them with a little olive oil, and spread them onto a baking sheet.
2. sprinkle spices and salt onto the vegetables
3. bake at 350 for around 40 minutes. Or until they are done. I have a tendency to open the oven 20 times so it may have taken longer than normal.

Sweet Potato Fries
– sweet potatoes
– sea salt
– olive oil

1. cut up sweet potatoes into thin fries
2. lightly sprinkle olive oil on them
3. add a little salt
4. bake at 375 until they are crispy.
5. enjoy.

Seared Scallops
– 1/2 to 1 lb scallops
– coconut oil
– sea salt and pepper

1. Heat up a pan and add coconut oil
2. sprinkle salt and pepper on the scallops
3. Place scallops in very hot pan and sear them for 1 minute on each side.
4. Devour

Vanilla Coconut Almond Cookies
– 1 1/2 c almond meal
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1/4 tsp baking soda
– 2 Tbs coconut oil
– 1 Tbs vanilla infused olive oil (you don’t need this)
– 2 Tbs honey. Add more based on how sweet you want your cookies.
– 2 tsp vanilla
– 2 Tbs water
– 1 C raw unsweetened coconut flakes

1. Mix almond meal, salt, and baking soda together.
2. In a separate bowl mix the coconut oil, vanilla olive oil, honey, vanilla, and water together.
3. Mix the above wet and dry ingredients together.
4. Add in the coconut flakes
5. line a baking sheet with wax paper and put golf ball size scoops of the ‘dough’ onto the baking sheet. Make sure to smash them down so they are flat because they won’t flatten in the oven.
6. Bake at 325 for 10-15 minutes or when the edges start to brown.

Anyways, the regional workouts have been announced and I couldn’t be happier. They are amazing and HEAVY…which is what I was hoping for. Even though I can’t compete because of my knee (99% sure I won’t be competing) I am so excited to watch. I waited during the entire open for something heavy to come up and it came in the form of one entire weekend. It’s a beautiful thing. I’ll talk more about my experience and thoughts on the workouts themselves as I am able to do them.

Leave a Reply

