A Little About Me

I get asked where I am from all the time. Most people are capable of answering this question…I’m not. So, like Shaina Jordan, I am going to write a bit about where I’m from and where I’ve been.
I was born in Baltimore, MD. I have a number of memories from Baltimore even though I moved when I was 4. Tulips, Green colored Leaf shaped cookies, the house I lived in and dancing on my fathers feet in the living room, and the Gypsy Kings.

We moved to Miami when I was 4 and I lived there until I was about 14. We spent summers in Telluride, CO…which was basically my second home and became my home as I moved away from Miami.



I played all sorts of sports growing up in Miami and had an affinity for wakeboarding and skateboarding. Anything with a board really. I also played softball for a really long time. I left Miami for boarding school in New Hampshire starting sophomore year. I was on a Snowboarding team and was able to snowboard every day during the winter.


Basically a dream come true…and I was able to get out of Miami. I get very cranky in the heat so me + the tropics = bad idea. I lived in France at the end of high school which was a great experience and I’ve been traveling around the world since I was a little kid.





I have been very fortunate to have opportunities like that. Most of the time I went home from boarding school, I’d go to Colorado. In between High school and College I lived in Miami and worked at a club.

Then I went to the Colorado College in Colorado Springs where I studied Political Science. I spent lots of time playing outside and doing things in the mountains.


I’ve changed my mind about 300 times when it comes to what I want to do with my life but Colorado has been full time home for a while now and I don’t really care to leave and I try to do so as little as possible. I will be going to graduate school to study architecture in the Fall. So now I’m here. At one point, I didn’t really know where my home was, now I do. I’ve learned a long the way that home is where your heart is and mine is here. With Chris and our fur child and my wonderful Progressive Fitness CrossFit family.




It could only get better if my dad and sister moved from Miami because my mom recently moved to Boulder. I’ve got an amazing and supportive family who still loves me despite all the crazy stuff I do.


I discovered CrossFit a few years ago and the rest is history.

5 responses to “A Little About Me

  1. “And that is why I am one of the nicest, coolest, strongest, and most fun girls you will ever meet. The end.”

    Love the post, and love learning more about you! 🙂

  2. My Husband is a Proctor and CC grad too – small world! We started crossfit 6 months ago (Pandoras Box, C’Springs) and love it.

  3. J, awesome picture in Budapest! When did you go to Hungary?

Leave a Reply

