Meal Plans and Things

So for the nutrition challenge I have come up with a meal plan for myself. (I can do this for anyone who is interested but only if you are willing to follow it. I’m not going to waste my time coming up with something only to have you eating too little or too much every day) I am doing this to lean down. Its mainly a vanity thing because my performance seems to be okay but I would like to be more efficient at things like running and handstand pushups so being a little lighter may help. I’ll actually be eating more than what I was eating before so we’ll see how it goes. Cleaning things up and taking out all the nuts I was eating. I’m going to do it for a week and adjust as needed… if my performance goes down, if I feel like crap, etc… I tend to adapt really well to whatever I put my body through so I don’t see there being much of a problem other than the fact I am in love with almond butter and I am eliminating it. I will have one cheat meal on the weekends where I will stuff all the almond butter that I missed throughout the week into a few short hours (joking). But I will probably have some almond butter and fruit during that time.

I had an eating disorder when I was younger. And by when i was younger, I mean for the majority of my life. A good ten years or so. This is part of me. It always will be. I think about and approach food in a much different way than most people. It has taken me a while to be able to talk about it and to accept that. Whatever. It is what it is. I know what I can and what I can’t do and what I need to do in order to have a healthy relationship with food. I have done a pretty good job with it every since I have started CrossFit. Paleo changed my life and I can honestly say I never thought I’d be able to think of food as fuel for my body…now I do. That changed happened with Crossfit and I will be forever grateful. So while weighing and measuring food and eating so strict may seem like bad habits for someone like me to some, for me it is not. For me, it is a way to force myself to eat enough and to eat the proper foods to reach my optimal performance and body composition. I am lucky that I put performance above anything else…another thing CrossFit has given me. So while my meal plan may have some pretty specific measurements for the carbs…I don’t measure my veggies. I know that I can’t possibly eat too many of them for the ‘blocks’ that I eat. I approximate my vegetable intake. I measure my protein so that I can control my consumption and I am currently watching my fat intake so that I can lean down a bit. Normally I don’t measure anything and just sort of go with how I feel and have a pretty good understanding of how many ounces of protein I get…I am currently forcing myself to eat more than I normally do. Once you do this for about a week you will have a pretty good idea of what your blocks look like. I always have a shake post workout. If I workout two separate times during the day I will have two progenex shakes. (These don’t count towards my blocks for the day.) I normally just have an extra long training session and double up within a few hours and stick to one shake. I do two-a-days for most of my training sessions and stick to one WOD only when I have to or I’m just destroyed. Most of my two-a-days have one main WOD, a lift in the Wendler strength format, an olympic lift skill that tends to be in a every minute on the minute format for anywhere from 7-15 minutes- low rep and heavy usually, as well as some sort of other workout that complements my first WOD. I also tend to scale up the first WOD, higher weight or skill depending on what it is. I take fish oil with breakfast and dinner and try to drink a few glasses (at least) of water with every meal as well as throughout the day.

So my meal plan is as follows:
Meal 1: 3 blocks

1 C eggwhites

2-3 C spinach with red onion

2 Tbs paleo ketchup (I have no idea how many carbs are in this. It is essentially glorified tomato paste)

1/2 Tbs coconut oil
Fish oil

PreWO: BCAAs

PWO: Progenex with coconut water

Meal 2: 4 Blocks

4 oz chicken with mustard

1 C pepper

1-2 mini cucumbers

1/4 avocado

Meal 3: 3 Blocks

6 egg whites

2 C veggies with mustard

1 Tbs Olive oil

Meal 4: 4 Blocks

6 oz fish (salmon)

2/3-1 sweet potato

2 Tbs coconut oil

4 responses to “Meal Plans and Things

  1. Why egg whites and not full eggs? I know I’ve already asked you this but I still don’t really understand.

  2. Shaina, I’m lazy as shit. It’s so much easier to pour some eggwhites into a cup rather than crack eggs in the morning. It’s also more food per block and I like my omelet size when it’s 1 cup.

    • Gotcha. I like that you used my name. It made the whole thing sound sort of angry. I also like the concept of “more” here because given all the info, it’s not entirely clear what more means. Just ignore me.

  3. hahahahha. it sounded formal. I’m not sure why I did it. Sometimes I call Chris, Chris, and it sounds weird. I guess more being a physically higher volume of food. So I’d have to eat more broccoli than I would sweet potato in order to get the same amount of carbohydrates. I get more eggwhites than eggs so my omelet is bigger and I feel like I’m eating more.

Leave a Reply

