An update and some of the things I’ve learned in the last 2.5 years of CrossFit

Sorry it’s been a while… it was a hectic week. Chris and I had a great time in Telluride but it was cut short by the Waldo Canyon Fire outbreak. Everyone we know is safe and back in their homes as of now but our thoughts go out to those whose lives were torn apart because of it. Here are some photos of our little adventure….

Some of the most important things I have learned in 2.5 years of being a CrossFit athlete and a coach.
(in no particular order)

Don’t cheat-
You aren’t only cheating yourself, you are cheating your coaches and your fellow athletes. People will start to notice and you will never lose that reputation. Just don’t do it…under any circumstance.

Take care of your hands- While you may think it is ‘cool’ to rip, it’s not. It’s actually the opposite of cool. It totally sucks. Be smart, don’t rip. Wear tape when you need to and lay off bars when you have to. Hand care if all about prevention and maintenence. File your callouses down and keep your hands moisturized. And when you do rip, because you will, don’t be a little bitch about it. Don’t lay in the corner and cradle your hands or whine when you have to wash the chalk out…we’ve all been there and I can guarantee yours are nothing compared to when I tore every callous off my hands at regionals and had to shower for 2 weeks with gloves on…take it from me, avoid rips at all costs.

Scale as needed- this is not advice, this is me telling you what you have to do. I don’t know how many times I have seen little boys (I say this because they are acting like little boys when they do it) come into the gym on heavy days and refuse to scale the weight because women are lifting more than them and try to pick up 255 lbs for reps. I don’t need to go into the horrible form used and the stupidity of the entire situation. Moral of the story, two days later they walk in with back pain. This is just f***ing stupid on so many levels. Everyone is not created equal…sorry guys. Scale when it’s too heavy, when it’s something you don’t know how to do (high skill), scale when you are injured, and scale when we tell you to. This is not an option. Scaling doesn’t make you a bitch, it makes you a smart athlete.

Warm up and do mobility- I don’t feel like going into this. Warm ups are important (so is cooling down.) Ever play sports when you were a kid? Remember that 30 minute warm up and cool down your coach put you through? (If they didn’t they were a bad coach) Yea, it’s just as important today. Just do it and you will thank me.

Perfect practice makes perfect- I’ve talked about this before. You are not going to get better if you practice crappy technique and poor form. It’s a fact. No excuses. If your technique sucks, lower the weight or scale the movement until it gets better. A 3/4 depth squat with 200 pounds is not a squat. A full depth squat with 95 pounds is a squat. Get over it.

Post workout nutrition is very important- there’s a lot of science-y stuff that goes into this and I don’t feel like explaining it. (mainly because I’d have to go back and read science-y articles and I just don’t care right now.) You will recover faster (so that you can work harder the next training session) if you eat something immediately after you workout. I don’t want to hear that you feel sick and you aren’t hungry right after a workout. If you want to optimize your recovery and performance, do it. If you don’t care about performance or recovery, don’t do it. It’s that simple.

Competition brings out the best in us- I once told the story of the Colorado Open Masters competition that Ma was in. One of the most inspiring moments I’ve ever witnessed. These types of things happen all the time at CF competitions. I’ve been an athlete my entire life and have never witnesses the type of sportsmanship and camaraderie that I have in CrossFit. It brings me to tears consistently and I believe that competition allows us to showcase this. It lets you push yourself to places you never thought you’d go and shows you what an amazing community we have. Competition is amazing and everyone should try it, regardless if your level. One day I will write about why I think competition is so important, but for now, this will suffice.

Trying my hardest doesn’t always mean winning and I am my own worst enemy- There is a lot more to this but the way we talk to ourselves is a reflection of so much more. After a workout do you scold yourself? Tell yourself you sucked, that you could have done better? I do… a lot of the time, and It’s something I am working on. Instead of doing this try looking at the positive, at all the things you did right and how hard you pushed yourself. We aren’t going to have perfect days every day, but we are capable of trying our hardest. If that means just finishing a workout, that is okay.

4 responses to “An update and some of the things I’ve learned in the last 2.5 years of CrossFit

  1. You are soo inspiring! Thank you for your posts 🙂

  2. I love the point about taking care of your hands. The first time we rip is like a badge of honor, but after that I think it’s dumb. If you properly care for your hands between WODs and get off the bar to change your grip when you feel a rip starting, it should be hard to get rips.

Leave a Reply

