What I’ve been up to

I’m so sorry it’s been like a month and I have had no useful information for you guys. I’m working on something about success and what it means (or doesn’t mean)
For now, this will have to suffice…

My life has been a little different this past month…and by a little, I mean a lot different.
Instead of waking up at 6 to make breakfast for or with the tribe and take the furry one to work with me, I wake up at 5:30 and make breakfast for myself and get my things ready for the day. (pretty similar)
Then I go to school. I get there around 7:30. About the same time I used to get to Progressive. Instead of hanging out with Ma and having coffee and mobilizing for an hour, I sit in a chair and do reading or work on some drawings. Instead of working out for an hour or two or three, I go to class and sit in a chair and learn (interesting and cool) things for a few hours. Then I go back to the studio and eat lunch. Instead of hanging out at the gym and coaching and working out some more, I hang out all afternoon and draw or build models or go back to class…until about 5:30 or 6 when I go home. Most of the time I’m pretty tired and don’t work out…On days I only have class once a day I try and workout in the afternoon.

Instead of working out (or doing mobility) for at least 2 hours a day, I struggle to get a workout in during my day. Instead of eating like 5 times during my day, I eat 3 times. And for those of you who knew my meal plan…I’m eating like 10 blocks now. (awesome right!?) Keep in mind my activity level dropped drastically so don’t freak out.
So working out in my basement is not very motivating. Sometimes I get to work out with Juli but my schedule is so unpredictable that it’s hard. I miss my schedule because I don’t feel very healthy.
And i miss all of you who brighten up my day and allow me to yell at you to get lower in your squat and stuff like that.
On a positive note- I’m surrounded by some smart and cool people who are super creative and I’m learning a ton of new stuff.

So I’m learning what it’s like to make excuses. (I know, I know…not so great) Not that I didn’t know how to before. But I’m allowing other things to come before training. I’m not sure if this is a good or bad thing… I ran a 6:59 mile this weekend which was pretty awesome but I am not sure if I could squat clean 195# and my handstand pushups are miserable at the moment. I’m trying to find a balance between school and training and all of that stuff. I’d honestly rather be working out than sitting at a drafting table…but I’d also rather be in the mountains than working out. As you guys know, I don’t do well with things in moderation. I tend to take something and run with it and I’m an all or nothing sort of person. It makes me passionate, but it also makes me restless, impatient, and even a bit reckless at times.

So I miss you guys. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about all of you and what you are doing and how many goals or PR’s you are reaching and how much I’d love to be coaching you. But I am there in spirit like I have said many times. I will see you all at the masters comp in Denver!

“Passion, it lies in all of us, sleeping… waiting… and though unwanted… unbidden… it will stir… open its jaws and howl. It speaks to us… guides us… passion rules us all, and we obey. What other choice do we have? Passion is the source of our finest moments. The joy of love… the clarity of hatred… and the ecstasy of grief. It hurts sometimes more than we can bear. If we could live without passion maybe we’d know some kind of peace… but we would be hollow… Empty rooms shuttered and dank. Without passion we’d be truly dead.”
– Joss Whedon

A few shots of what I’ve been up to…





5 responses to “What I’ve been up to

  1. I think this very great, now you will be very, very educated and really strong, so you can design a really neat gym! Please put in a pool,dry sauna and hot tub (for recovery purposes only).

  2. Hi J, it is so good to hear from you! Believe it or not, I was JUST thinking about not seeing a post from you for a while, and there it was:))) pretty awesome.
    Just keep doing what you are doing! I think it is great! Everything happens for a reason. I know exactly how it is when other things HAVE to come before workouts and all that good stuff. I am very much like you, and I always want to put in 200%, but it is just not possible all the time. Once you get more settled in, you will have more time to fit in what you are missing.
    Where can I write you in private?
    Btw, I made 2 of your recipes you posted earlier, the veggies baked in the oven, and the sweet potato fries. Emma loved them too:)
    I heard about a wonderful blueberry-banana muffin you’ve been making lately. When you get the chance, you could post that recipe also:)
    Take care,
    it is always good to see you on the weekends!
    Adrienn

    • Hey Adrienn! You can email me at jaelyn.wolf@gmail.com

      I will re-post the banana muffins. I had a post about them but everyone seems to ask so I will re-do it. They are awesome!
      Thank you for your encouraging words. I’m glad to hear your family likes the recipes! 🙂
      Feel free to email me any time,
      J

  3. Thank you! I printed the recipe and will make the muffins this weekend:)
    Yes, I will e-mail you:)
    Adrienn

Leave a Reply

